## DeKalb County Enterprise Zone Advisory Board Meeting Thursday, March 13, 2025 4:00 PM

Meeting Location: DCEDC Conference Room 2179 Sycamore Road; Unit 102 DeKalb, IL

Attendance/Voting Members: Paul Callighan, Shellie Few (proxy – Kokott), Jill Fletcher (proxy - Dr. Borowicz), Dr. Lisa Freeman, Michael Hall, Derek Hiland, Mike Kokott, Rob Larkins, Bill Nicklas, Maura O'Toole (proxy – Kokott), Pramit Patel, Frank Roberts, Cortney Strohacker, Dan Templin

**Attendance/Ex-Officio Members:** Randy Bourdages (Afton Township), Armir Doka (CUSD #428), Mary Hess (DeKalb Township)

Staff: Melissa Amedeo, Andrea Van Drew

## MINUTES

## ROLL CALL at 4:07 PM.

President Patel called for an approval of the meeting agenda. Motion by Nicklas and seconded by Freeman. Meeting agenda approved.

Patel called for an approval of the minutes from the previous Enterprise Zone Advisory Board meeting on December 13, 2024. Motion by Hiland and second by Callighan. Meeting minutes approved.

Patel opened the meeting to public comments. Hearing none, Patel moved on to Enterprise Zone updates from Van Drew.

Van Drew reported that in 2024, six new projects were initiated, mostly in DeKalb, with one in Sycamore. Notable projects include Suter Company's phase five build-out and the META project. 2024 was quieter but had significant project activity.

For 2025, several projects are in the pipeline, including Patel's Marriott Hotel and the Karis Data Center. Amendments to the Enterprise Zone are being handled in-house to save costs.

Efforts are underway to educate contractors and businesses about the Enterprise Zone benefits through online tutorials. Impact stories will be collected to demonstrate the program's value to the state.

There are statewide issues with contractors not filing their annual BMEC reports. Efforts are being made to ensure contractors complete necessary paperwork for DeKalb County.

Finally, Amedeo reported that Project Sunflower has requested additional follow-up information. No further communication on that RFI at this time.

Patel asked for final discussion and questions. None heard.

Patel called for motion to adjourn. Motion by Templin and second by Hiland. Motion to adjourn approved.

Meeting adjourned at 4:24 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Andrea D. Van Drew